Quebec HistoryMarianopolis College
 HomeAbout this siteSite SearchMarianopolis College Library

Maps of Quebec / Cartes du Québec


Last revised:
20 August 2004

Territorial Evolution of Canada

Évolution du territoire du Canada

Canada/Quebec in 1763 following the Royal Proclamation.

Canada/Québec au moment de la Proclamation Royale de 1763

By the Constitutional Act, in 1791, the Province of Quebec was divided into
two colonies: Upper Canada and Lower Canada (Bas Canada)

L'Acte constitutionnel de 1791 divise la Province de Québec en deux colonies: le Haut-Canada (Ontario) et le Bas-Canada (Québec).

Following the recommendation of Lord Durham, in his famous Report,
Upper and Lower Canada were reunited, by the Union Act
in 1840-1841.

Suite aux recommendations de Lord Durham dans son Rapport bien connu, le Haut et le Bas-Canada sont réunis, par l'Acte d'Union de 1840-41 (Canada-Uni ou Province du Canada).

At Confederation, in 1867, the Constitutional Act severs Ontario and Quebec and unites them with Nova Scotia and New Brunswick into a new country
called: Dominion of Canada.

Au moment de la Confédération, en 1867, l'Acte Constitutionnel sépare le Québec de l'Ontario et les unit à la Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick pour former un nouveau pays: le Canada

By 1873, Canada has acquired Rupert's Land (1869-70), Manitoba has been created (1870), and British Columbia (1871) and Prince Edward Island have been admitted
into Canada. The Canadian objective of being a country
"From Sea to Sea" has been fulfilled

Déjà en 1873, le Canada a acquis les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (1869-70), le Manitoba a été créé (1870), et la Colombie-Britannique (1871) et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (1873) se sont joints au Canada. L'objectif du Canada d'être un pays "A Mari Usque ad Mare" est atteint.

In 1898, a federal law extended the boundaries of Ontario and Quebec northward.
In 1905, the federal government created the provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta.

En 1898, une loi fédérale augmente vers le nord les territoires du Québec et de l'Ontario; en 1905, une autre loi fédérale donne naissance aux provinces de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta.

In 1912, a federal law granted further extentions of territory in the North
to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

En 1912, une loi fédérale augment vers le nord les territoires du Manitoba, de l'Ontario et du Québec.

© 2004 Claude Bélanger, Marianopolis College