Essay Guide
Québec History
Civilisation Occidentale
About Claude Bélanger

King's Cove Head Lighthouse


Photo courtesy of Kent Hotson (September 2004)

The lighthouse was established in 1893 and automated in 1931. Made of cast iron, the tower was prefabricated in England. The Batterton family from St. John's were lightkeepers at King's Cove from 1893 to 1931. The keeper's house has been demolished. Located on a headland near the town of King's Cove in Bonavista Bay, the lighthouse is accessible via a picturesque hiking trail. (research by Joan Hotson)



© 2004 Claude Bélanger, Marianopolis College